Creating New Staff Member Accounts

Last updated by Skye Galloway on July 22, 2022 17:45

If you are using our Recruitment Add-On then you do not need to create staff accounts. Applicants who digitally accept their job offers will automatically have accounts created and their details copied across.

There are three ways to create staff accounts. We recommend you use the Request an Account option which basically asks the staff to sign up themselves and then are approved by managers.

Request an Account

The easiest and most recommended method is by simply asking staff to create their own accounts. On the login screen for StaffSavvy is a button marked Request an Account. This allows staff to complete all of their information and send it to you to approve. Staff can’t access your site without being approved so this is a very safe and easy method. It means you do not need to collect staff contact details manually.

Authorise Accounts

For accounts created using the Request an Account, they need to be authorised before gaining access. All other methods will provide instant access.

Once you have accounts to approve, these will be displayed on your dashboard under a panel called notifications.

Simply clicking on this, will display a list of all of the staff awaiting approval; each staff name is listed down the left of the screen. This can also be accessed via Dashboard > Staff > New Staff > Authorise Accounts.

Their key contact information will be displayed on the right. Underneath this, the levels the staff member can be assigned is listed. To approve a staff member, simply select a level other than ‘Unauthorised’ and click the Process Accounts button at the bottom of the screen.

You will normally want to assign the staff member a couple of roles as needed so they can start working and be assigned shifts as needed.

If you don’t recognise the account, then you can use the Delete option in the list of levels to delete the account and block the email address.

Once you approve the staff member, they will be sent an email to let them know they can access the account.

Invite Staff

To navigate to this page go to your Dashboard > Staff > New Staff > Invite Staff.

This page allows you to get accounts setup on the system with minimal information. There are two options; instant access or create account (but with no immediate access).

The instant access option allows you to pre-set the staff member’s access level within the site. Simply enter their email address, select their home venue and choose their access level. They will be sent a welcome email which allows them to sign up for the system and provide all of their information.

If you provide their name when setting up, then you will be able to edit their account immediately. If you leave their name blank then you will need to wait until they have accepted their invite and provided this information to you. They will not appear on the site until their name has been provided.

Alternatively, the no immediate access option requires you to provide their email, first name and last name. The staff member will have an account created but they will not be given access and they won’t receive a welcome email (yet). This allows you to set up more details on their account without them having access.

Once you are ready to provide access, go to the Staff > Staff Settings > Manage Staff page and search for the staff member. Under the Manage menu on their row, you will have an option to send their invite email.

You can view your active invites from the invite staff page anytime. From here you can also cancel their invite or re-send the invite to them.

Resending the invite will also create a new activation link so the staff member needs to use the newest email they have been sent.

Create Account

This option allows you to set up a complete account on behalf of a staff member. You will need to provide all of their information including email and mobile details.

There is an option to email them a temporary password; they will be asked to change it when they log in.

This has the benefit that the account is ready to use immediately and can have shifts assigned to it straight away. However, this requires a lot more admin than the other methods and thus should only be used when really needed.