In this article we will go through what to do when a staff member decides to leave the company and therefore, will need to be taken out of the StaffSavvy system.
How do you archive an active staff account?
Once a staff member has decided to leave the company you will want to start the process of deleting and archiving their staff account in the system. We have a list of settings you can go through, to start setting off the process, including how to archive accounts, setting a leaving date and sorting any left over holiday leave.
The first step to start the leaving process is to set a leaving date for your staff members. Alternatively, you can immediately archive a staff member under the actions bar under your profile.
However, we would recommend you instead set a setting a leaving date once you have the date your staff member will be leaving the company.
You can set a leaving date under the staff member's profile under their details tab under dates > leaving date.
You also have the option here to decide what you want to do with any left over shifts that have been scheduled in past the leaving date, including changing them to extra, offered or unassigned shifts.
So, how do you go about archiving your accounts?
When a staff member leaves, their account needs to be archived for privacy reasons. This means their details are hidden from the bulk of the system but are retained for your records.
There are multiple ways to archive accounts however, you must have the associated access permission to do this.
You can choose to archive by setting a ‘Leaving Date’ on individual accounts anytime. Setting this date will inform the system to automatically archive their account at the end of their leaving date. It will happen automatically sometime after midnight. The leaving date is their last day.
Once a leaving date is set, no shifts can be scheduled for after the leaving date.
You can also configure automatic archiving under Dashboard > System > Configuration > Global Settings > Data Policies. This allows you to configure various filters to capture inactive staff and automatically remove them from the system.
You can manually archive an account from either their profile page or using the Staff > Staff Settings > Manage Staff and clicking Manage on the right side of their name.
When archiving an account, you can choose to transfer any outstanding shifts to another account at the same time. Otherwise they will be converted to extra shifts automatically.
The archive action is performed instantly so the account holder will be informed and access to their account removed.
You can decide these points under your archive settings. There are a list of settings that we have that can be used so that you can decide how we process the data of archived staff and how long the system stores the data so you can still access it for records, before it is destroyed. Additionally, you are also able to automatically archive staff based on inactivity.
*Warning - if you archive an account a staff member will no longer be able to log in or access their account themselves, only a manager will be able to access their account
You will need to go to System > Global Systems > Data Policies. Under this tab you will find a list of settings
Automatically Archive Inactive Staff
This option will automatically mark staff to be archived when they have been inactive in the system for a set period of time. This will simply disable their access from the site and remove them from staff lists etc.
Here you can choose many months a staff member must be inactive before being automatically archived.
Apply to Levels
You can choose which levels the automatic archive option applies to. This is to prevent senior managers who might not use StaffSavvy often from being removed repeatedly.
This is where you can enter the email addresses you would like to be notified when an account is archived (or when one of the following two email notifications are also sent). Separate each email address with a comma.
Notify When Leaving Date is Set
When this option is enabled, we’ll send an email notification to the email addresses in Notify Us whenever an account’s leaving date is set, changed or removed.
Leaving Date Warning
When this option is enabled, we’ll send an email notification to the email addresses in Notify Us one month before the account is due to be archived.
Holiday - Pro Rata
Depending on their contract a staff member might need their annual leave recalculated before they leave the system.
If the staff are on a pro rata contract then when they leave the holiday on their contract should pro rata, recalculating their holiday pay to the amount due based on the days left they have left before their leaving date opposed to their annual leave allowance.
So if for example your holiday year was April to April and you get 20 days but you left in September, if you were on a pro rata contract setting, it will be auto calculated to match the new date.
If the staff member is on an 'Earn & Claim' contract they will be paid out any additional holiday pay that has been earned automatically.
It is important to note, this will only go through if a leaving date or a contract end date has been set. Otherwise, holiday will not be automatically recalculated.
Can I gain access back into the account if needed?
Archived Staff Member Information can be Accessed by Line Manager
When a staff member has been archived but their information has not been shredded, a line manager can still choose to gain temporary access to the account. This allows the line manager to view the information provided on their profile in case it is needed.
Archived staff can be viewed via Staff > Staff Settings > Archived Staff. From here click on ‘Gain Temporary Access’. This will give you access to view the Staff Member’s profile for an additional month before automatically shredding the Archived Staff Member’s data.